e-Visa Vietnam

Check out if you need an e-Visa to travel to Vietnam

Many visitors do not need an e-Visa to visit Vietnam and are exempt when visiting for holidays or social purposes. However, it is really important to check eligibility before travelling.

If you are not exempt and do require a visa you will need to get this from your home country before travelling, unless your nationality is offered a visa on arrival. The Vietnamese High Commission, the Embassy and the Consulate will be able to fully advise you on the current requirements.

On arrival, if you are from one of the visa-exempt countries, you will receive a permit to stay for a defined period (it depends on your nationality). Regardless of whether you require a visa or not, please remember that you must have a valid passport. If your passport is not fully valid your airline may not allow you to board and the immigration authority will not allow you to land in Vietnam.

There are no longer arrival cards to complete. The immigration officer will issue a permit after taking your fingerprint. It will depend on your passport/nationality.

Vietnam is currently launching an e-Visa system for citizens from 80 countries:



Passports issued by countries listed below do not require an e-Visa for Vietnam:

  • 0 days - Chile, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand.
  • 1 day - Philippines (above 21 - must apply for e-Visa)
  • 4 days - Brunei, Myanmar (above 14 - must apply for e-Visa)
  • 5 days - Belarus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom (with restrictions). Only in case of a gap of at least 30 days between two visa-free visits. You must have a printout of an onward ticket. Otherwise, e-Visa is required.

Vietnam only offers Visas on Arrival (VoA) to a few nationalities and under very specific conditions.

For those that do not meet these specific conditions will require a visa or meet the criteria and conditions for a Transit Without Visa [TWOV]. Even a stay of 1 or 2 hours when changing aircraft when crossing immigration require a transit visa. However, if meeting some criteria India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka passport holders can apply for a Transit Without Visa.

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve the browsing experience and offer interesting content and advertising. By using our website, you accept our Cookie Policy. Learn more I agree